tT A A A
  • Venue
    Jamshed Bhabha Theatre
  • Date Time
    28 September 2017 | 7:00 pm
  • Member Price
    Rs.1600, 1280, 960, 640, 320/- (Plus GST)
  • Non Member Price
    Rs.1600, 1280, 960, 640, 320/- (Plus GST)

Event Details

Symphony Orchestra of India
Evgeny Bushkov, conductor
Stephen Hough, piano
Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5 (‘Emperor’) in E-flat major, Op. 73
Mozart: Symphony No. 41 (‘Jupiter’) in C major, K. 551

One of today’s most interesting conductors, Evgeny Bushkov received early acclaim as a violinist, winning at four major international violin competitions: Wieniawski (1986), Queen Elizabeth (1989), Tchaikovsky (1990), and the first Henryk Szeryng Foundation award (1992). An Honoured Artist of Russia, Bushkov brings his exceptional performing experience and impeccable artistry to his conducting. He has worked with several orchestras across the globe, including the Moscow Philharmonic, St. Petersburg Philharmonic, the orchestra of the Bolshoi Theatre, and the Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano ‘G. Verdi’, and is Artistic Director and Chief Conductor of the Belarusian State Chamber Orchestra. Evgeny Bushkov became Resident Conductor of the Symphony Orchestra of India in January 2017.

“Evgeny Bushkov is one of the best conductors I have played with in the last decade”
– Paul Badura-Skoda
One of the most distinctive artists of his generation, Stephen Hough combines a distinguished career as a pianist with those of composer and writer. Named by The Economist as one of Twenty Living Polymaths, Hough was the first classical performer to be awarded a MacArthur Fellowship and was made a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) in the New Year’s Honours 2014. Since taking first prize at the 1983 Naumburg Competition in New York, Hough has performed with many of the world’s major orchestras and has given recitals at the most prestigious concert halls. He is a regular guest at festivals such as Salzburg, La Roque d’Anthéron, Mostly Mozart, Edinburgh, and BBC Proms, where he has made twenty-five concerto appearances.

“The most perfect piano playing conceivable.”
– The Guardian

“Stephen Hough’s steady ascent to the summit of his profession exhibits equally supreme mastery of his instrument and the deep humanity from which it has flowered.” 
– International Record Review

This programme runs 95 minutes, including one intermission.


For the Autumn 2017 season of the Symphony Orchestra of India, we are offering patrons who purchase tickets for each programme in the season a 10% discount on their purchase.  For terms & conditions, see here.

Get In Touch

  • Hidden