tT A A A
  • Venue
    Jamshed Bhabha Theatre
  • Date Time
    15 September 2023 | 7:00 pm
  • Age Limit
  • Member Price
    Rs.3,600, 2,880, 2,520, 2,160, 1,800, 1,440, 900 & 450/- (Inclusive of GST)
  • Non Member Price
    Rs.4,000, 3,200, 2,800, 2,400, 2,000, 1,600, 1,000 & 500/- (Inclusive of GST)

Event Details

Richard Farnes, conductor
Pavel Kolesnikov, piano

Williams: Imperial March from Star Wars
Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-flat major, Op. 83
Wagner: Parsifal Suite (arr. Gourlay)

Richard Farnes returns to conduct the SOI in a concert featuring works by John Williams, Brahms, and Wagner. The concert opens with Williams’ iconic Imperial March from Star Wars. Being featured not only in films but also in advertisements, this work is one of the most performed and celebrated pieces of music in orchestral repertoire. Pavel Kolesnikov also returns to join the SOI in Brahms’ Second Piano Concerto.

Brahms composed this concerto 22 years after his first, dedicating it to his teacher, and wrote to Clara Schumann: “I want to tell you that I have written a very small piano concerto with a very small and pretty scherzo.” This was the self-critical composer describing a giant work!

The concert concludes with a suite from Wagner’s Parsifal constructed by Andrew Gourlay. “Parsifal surely contains some of Wagner’s greatest orchestral writing… I therefore set about constructing an orchestral suite that would give us more time to settle into the music of Parsifal. The result is forty-five minutes of continuous music from the opera” – Gourlay.

This event runs approximately 130 minutes including one intermission.

Pre-concert talk at 6:15 pm in the JBT Museum.


Box Office now Open.


Season Discount:
For the SOI Autumn 2023 Season of the Symphony Orchestra of India, we are offering patrons who purchase tickets for three or more concerts a 20% discount on their purchase.
Use Promo Code SOISEA20 to avail the discount.
Terms and conditions: Click here

Student Discount:
A 50% student discount for the SOI Autumn 2023 Season concerts. Please note that there will be a limit on the number of discounted transactions per concert. Only one discounted seat per transaction will be permitted.
Use Promo Code SOISTU50 to avail the discount.
Terms and conditions: Click here

Get In Touch

  • Hidden

The NCPA is committed to preserving and promoting India's rich and vibrant artistic heritage in the fields of music, dance, theatre, film, literature and photography, as well as presenting new and innovative work by Indian and international artists from a diverse range of genres including drama, contemporary dance, orchestral concerts, opera, jazz and chamber music.