tT A A A
  • Venue
    Warwick Arts Centre, Coventry
  • Date Time
    29 November 2023 | 7:30 pm

Event Details

Symphony Orchestra of India
Richard Farnes, conductor
Pavel Kolesnikov, piano

John Williams ‘Imperial March’ from Star Wars
Brahms Piano Concerto No.2
Wagner Parsifal Suite (constructed by Andrew Gourlay)

The Symphony Orchestra of India launches its 2023 UK tour at the Warwick Arts Centre in Coventry.

A stirring programme begins with Williams’ ‘Imperial March’, a grand and iconic work that debuted in The Empire Strikes Back, and has since featured across the entire Star Wars franchise.

It’s contrasted by Brahms’ colossal second piano concerto, which moves from a rich and melodic first movement, into a turbulent “small scherzo”, followed by a slow and dreamy third, before reaching a thrilling and energetic conclusion.

Ending the night is Wagner’s Parsifal Suite, a piece which harks back to conductor Richard Farnes’ time as Music Director of Opera North, where he developed a close affinity with Wagner.

Buy Tickets

Get In Touch

  • Hidden

The NCPA is committed to preserving and promoting India's rich and vibrant artistic heritage in the fields of music, dance, theatre, film, literature and photography, as well as presenting new and innovative work by Indian and international artists from a diverse range of genres including drama, contemporary dance, orchestral concerts, opera, jazz and chamber music.