tT A A A
  • Venue
    Usher Hall, Edinburgh
  • Date Time
    3 December 2023 | 7:30 pm

Event Details

Symphony Orchestra of India
Alpesh Chauhan, conductor
Zakir Hussain, tabla
Niladri Kumar , sitar
Rakesh Chaurasia , bansuri

Strauss Rosenkavalier Suite
Hussain Triple Concerto (European premiere)
Stravinsky Petrushka (1947)

After the Symphony Orchestra of India’s last visit in 2019, the orchestra is all set to perform as part of the Sunday Classics season. This concert will be conducted by the brilliant young British conductor Alpesh Chauhan, of Indian descent.

The concert begins with a suite of orchestral music from Richard Strauss’ opulent opera ‘Rosenkavalier’ and the concert will end with one of the great 20th-century masterpieces by Stravinsky with its surging rhythms and vivid colours, Petrushka.

The concert will also feature perhaps the greatest musician in the Indian classical tradition, the tabla player Zakir Hussain. With his trio he will perform a work commissioned especially for this tour, his exciting Triple Concerto.

Buy Tickets

Get In Touch

  • Hidden

The NCPA is committed to preserving and promoting India's rich and vibrant artistic heritage in the fields of music, dance, theatre, film, literature and photography, as well as presenting new and innovative work by Indian and international artists from a diverse range of genres including drama, contemporary dance, orchestral concerts, opera, jazz and chamber music.